Areas of Expertise



Susan Douglas, oboe instructor at Southwestern University, is well known in central Texas as a teacher, soloist and a chamber musician. She has appeared with the Austin Symphony, the Georgetown Haydn Festival Orchestra, the Orchestra of St. David’s, Victoria Symphony, Mid-Texas Symphony and the Corpus Christi Symphony. She has also played in orchestras accompanying such organizations as the Austin Civic Chorus, Austin Vocal Arts Ensemble, San Gabriel Chorale, and Canto. Her solo repertoire has included such works as J. S. Bach’s Double Concerto, Aaron Copland’s Quiet City and Richard Strauss’s Oboe Concerto. She has also been a member of the Festival Orchestra of the American Institute of Musical Studies in Graz, Austria. A founding member of the Serenata Winds woodwind quintet, she has a special interest in American music. In addition to her duties at Southwestern, Ms. Douglas runs a large and

successful private studio.

BM, MM, Post-Graduate Studies, University of Texas at Austin
phone 512-280-0710(hm) or 512-423-4915(cell)


MM, The University of Texas at Austin, 1983