• Former President Jake B. Schrum
    Former President Jake B. Schrum

Former Southwestern University President Jake B. Schrum has been selected to receive a national award for his service to higher education.

Schrum will receive the 2013 Frank L. Ashmore Award for Service to CASE and the Advancement Profession given by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE). CASE is an international organization that supports the field of educational advancement, which includes alumni relations, fundraising, communications and marketing.

The Frank L. Ashmore Award is the highest honor for individuals who have served CASE and the field of institutional advancement in higher education. Schrum will receive the award at a luncheon on Monday, July 15, in conjunction with the CASE Summit for Leaders in Advancement in San Francisco.

Schrum has been a college and university administrator for nearly 40 years. He was president of Texas Wesleyan University in Fort Worth from 1991 to 2000 before being named president of Southwestern in 2000. He will be leaving Southwestern at the end of June to become president of Emory & Henry College in Virginia.

During his tenure at Texas Wesleyan, Schrum helped more than double the school’s endowment and annual fund, and at Southwestern he has led the largest fundraising campaign in the university’s history.

Schrum has been a frequent presenter at CASE conferences and served as chair of the CASE Board of Trustees from 1993 to 1995. He also has served as national board chair for the Associated Colleges of the South (ACS) and the Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas (ICUT).

In 2008, Schrum received the Dr. E. Joseph Savoie Chief Executive Leadership Award from CASE District IV, which includes Texas, New Mexico, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and Mexico.

Others receiving CASE’s 2013 Distinguished Service Awards are Susan Kubik of Northampton Community College, Air Force Academy graduate and alumni volunteer Charles Garcia, and Intel co-founder Gordon Moore and his wife, Betty, who have  donated more than $1 billion for academic research, scholarships and professorships.