Steve Raben ’63, President of the Association of Southwestern University Alumni and Campaign Cabinet member,  hosted a campaign luncheon at the Coronado Club in Houston for two dozen of the University’s alumni and friends.  The group gathered to hear President Jake Schrum describe how the University’s strategic plan, “Shaping Our Future,” outlines a framework for moving forward boldly to:

  • Enrich our academic offerings
  • Enhance our athletic programs
  • Expand our visibility and recognition
  • Strengthen our financial vitality

The President’s comments focused on the University’s plans for enriching its academic offerings and enhancing its athletic programs.  He emphasized that both of these strategic directions are focused on the student experience at Southwestern.  President Schrum outlined plans for the following bold initiatives:

  • building a new $24 million Science Center (view science center brochure)
  • making the Paideia philosophy central to the Southwestern education for all students
  • adding a January Term to help students complete their education on time
  • adding a fifth year in teacher education so that our students earn a Master of Teaching degree
  • partnering with The Methodist Hospital Research Institute in Houston to develop the curriculum for a new master’s degree in Translational Medicine that will be awarded by Southwestern with laboratory facilities provided by The Methodist Hospital Research Institute (watch video of SU interns at the Institute)
  • reinstating football and adding women’s lacrosse to our roster of NCAA Division III varsity sports teams during the 2013-2014 school year (view news story)

Tim Boone ’77, Chair of the Science Center Advisory Council, added special remarks about the essential nature of the $24 million dollar Science Center project and his efforts to lead fundraising for it.  Dr. Boone emphasized the impact of facilities and equipment to teaching 21st Century science.  He also briefly outlined the innovative collaboration developing between The Methodist Hospital Research Institute and Southwestern.

Luncheon attendees included: 

Steve Raben ’63 – Luncheon Host
Daryl Allen ’93
Tim Boone ’77
Ed Ellis ’64
Leland Fondren
Stephen Gardner ’82
Elva Godwin ’71
Hillery Keith ’82
David Lemons ’63
Sharon Lemons ’62
Joan Lufburrow ’81
Steven Lufburrow ’81
Edward Jones
Jack Lyons ’75
Amanda McMillan ’95
Merriman Morton ’63
Doug Paisley, II ’70
Michael Pearson
Ronald Presswood ’62
Ann Ramsey ’67
Stephen Ressling ’81


President Jake Schrum ’68
Rick McKelvey
Kent Huntsman


Related News & Events