Southwestern University recently awarded one of its highest honors, the Southwestern University Medal, to two of its outstanding supporters – 1963 graduate Joe Seeber of Hewitt and University Historian William B. Jones of Georgetown. The medals recognize outstanding contributions to the university for either service or philanthropy.

The medals were presented Nov. 3 at a ceremony held during this year’s Homecoming and Reunion weekend. Seeber has served as president of The Association of Southwestern University Alumni for the past two years. In this short time, the number of local alumni associations has grown from one to 11. Southwestern has also seen its highest attendance at Homecoming and Reunion Weekend. In addition, nine alumni connection groups have been established. During his two-year term as president, Seeber visited alumni in 40 cities, paying for all travel and meals out of his own pocket. “The amount of time and resources Joe committed during his tenure as president of The Association of Southwestern University Alumni is unparalleled,” said Georgianne Hewett, associate vice president for alumni relations. “He set out to ignite the passion that Southwestern alumni have for their alma mater. His outreach prompted hundreds of unengaged alumni to get involved with the university.” Jones was a highly revered history professor at Southwestern for 34 years. He also served as provost from 1975-1985, during which time he helped create the international studies major and helped the Mathematics Department form the computer science major. Jones was named University Historian in 2006 and recently completed an updated history of Southwestern titled To Survive and Excel, The Story of Southwestern University 1840-2000. “No living person knows more about Southwestern University than William B. Jones,” said President Jake B. Schrum. “He is one of the most admired persons in our 167-year history.” The Southwestern University Medal was first presented in 1998. Previous recipients of the award include Red and Genevieve Caldwell, Bernice Kilgore Giddings, Red McCombs, Benjamin R. Oliphint, Elizabeth Perkins Prothro, Robert and Ruby Priddy, James V. Walzel, and Evie Jo Craven Wilson.


Related News & Events