Rising juniors, Agobe is double-majoring in political science and history, Guerrero is a political science major, and O’Neil is double-majoring in political science and financial economics. They are three of only 34 students nationally to receive a Sumners scholarship in 2021. 

“The Sumners Scholarship is a very prestigious scholarship,” said Sumners Foundation Chairman Jerry Reis. “Sumners Scholars have made significant contributions to their communities, state and country. Following in the footsteps of Congressman Hatton W. Sumners, we are pleased to support students working to improve the political system, address issues through public policy, educate others about civic responsibility, and be active, productive members of society.”

The Foundation’s purpose is to encourage the study, teaching and research into the science and art of self-government to the end that the American people may understand the fundamental principles of democracy and be guided thereby in shaping governmental policies.  

Sumners Scholar alumni include such notables as U.S. District Judge Fred Biery, Senior Deputy Attorney General of Oklahoma Dara Derryberry, Chairman of Matador Resources Joe Foran, Chief Justice of the Texas Supreme Court Nathan Hecht, Kerrville City Manager Mark McDaniel, and past Chancellor of the New Mexico Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church Charles L. Moore.

For more information about the Sumners Scholarship, please contact Alexandra Anderson, SU’s fellowship advisor, at afca@southwestern.edu