This year, eight Southwestern University faculty members have won Sam Taylor Fellowship grants ranging from approximately $800 to $2,000. Each went through a competitive application process and was selected by the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church.

Please join us in congratulating the 2020 recipients:

  • Steve Alexander, “Generating Energy from Sound”
  • Cody Crosby, “Designing Novel Bioinks for 3D Bioprinting: Bridging the Laboratory and the Clinic”
  • Saroj Dhital, “Are Indigenous People More Vulnerable to the Impacts of Climate Change Compared to Their Local Nonindigenous Neighbors?
  • Gabriela Flores, “Unpacking Gender Bias”
  • Ron Geibel, a solo art exhibition titled landscape, a large-scale ceramic installation publicly exhibited in the Central Gallery at the Austin Central Library in the summer of 2021. 
  • Sara Massey, “Determining the Effect of Environmental Niche on Light Harvesting Machinery in Photosynthetic Diatoms”
  • Aaron Prevots, Guillevic: The Sacred in the Everyday
  • Jennifer Stokes, “Assessing the Effects of Short-Term Electronic Nicotine Delivery on Adolescent Rat Lung Function” 

Every year, the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry awards faculty members at United Methodist–affiliated universities in Texas with research grants made possible through the Sam Taylor Fellowship Fund. The fund came to fruition after the late Sam Taylor created a will that set aside funds specifically for furthering the education of faculty members at United Methodist–affiliated colleges and schools in Texas. The grants allow faculty to pursue graduate study or postgraduate research.