The award, presented at the annual baseball banquet hosted by the Round Rock Sertoma Club, is chosen by the Round Rock Express. The award goes to a player, coach or scout that has made a major contribution to baseball in Central Texas. All of the award recipients have left a lasting legacy in the Central Texas area. They have set an example on and off the field. They have not only taught young men how to become better baseball players, they also taught their players how to become good people.

Mallon, who is legendary in the Georgetown and surrounding community, served as the head baseball coach at Southwestern from 1971-2004 and built the Southwestern University baseball team into one of the top programs in Division III. In 34 seasons with the Pirates, he compiled a 1,197-601 overall record and is the seventh-winningest coach in NCAA Division III history.

Career Highlights

  • 1,197-601 record (34 seasons)
  • Elected to the NAIA Hall of Fame in 1992
  • Five-time NAIA District Coach of the Year
  • Third-winningest coach in NAIA history
  • Seventh-winningest coach in NCAA Division III history
  • Received 25-year service ABCA award in 1995
  • Won 40 or more games for 10 consecutive seasons
  • 30 winning seasons in 34 years at Southwestern
  • 23 playoff teams including 13 in a row
  • 19 student-athletes have signed professional contracts
  • 23 student-athletes are now coaching high school or college baseball in Texas
  • Southwestern is the only school at which he has coached
  • Southwestern has the seventh-best winning percentage in NCAA Division III since 1990

Mallon Decade-by-Decade

2000-2004 • 168-69 (.709)
1990-99 • 308-164 (.653)
1980-89 • 452-214 (.679)
1971-79 • 269-154 (.636)
1971-2004 • 1,197-601 (.666)



Related News & Events