The University recognizes fifteen (15) holidays per year.  The traditional holidays are as follows:

  • Good Friday
  • Memorial Day
  • Juneteenth / Emancipation Day
  • Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday (observed)
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • The day before Thanksgiving Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • The day following Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Day through New Years Day*

 *Additional days may be designated as holidays in conjunction with the traditional holidays and will vary according to the day of the week on which the traditional holidays may fall.  Annual notification of the coming year’s holiday schedule is distributed in the fall.

No holiday pay is granted when a holiday occurs during leave without pay.  Regular benefit eligible part-time employees are compensated for holidays at the appropriate proportional rate.

If a recognized holiday falls on a day when students are on campus or when the University has work of an essential nature, employees may be asked to work during a holiday.  Nonexempt employees who work on official holidays will receive holiday pay for eight hours, plus compensation for one and one-half times the number of hours the employee actually worked.  As an alternative, with supervisory approval, an employee who works on a holiday may (instead of receiving the above-described holiday pay), receive regular pay for that holiday day and then take-off on an alternative day.  The University will designate alternative holiday day(s) and will be coordinated through each departmental supervisor as appropriate.

The University will make reasonable accommodations to employees who wish to observe religious holidays that do not fall on one of the “traditional” holidays by allowing the employee to take such a day off.  This time off may be without pay or employees may use accrued vacation time.  In addition, the President may designate certain religious holidays that may be substituted for other holidays.

You can find the current Holiday Calendar here.