Dean of the Faculty

Faculty Awards


The William Carrington Finch Award is made to a full-time faculty member for conspicuous accomplishments in furthering the aims of Southwestern University. A plaque and a cash award of $5000 will be made normally on alternate years as an appropriate recipient is identified. The criteria include: involvement in a teaching field interpreted to include the creative and performing arts; research for either publication or teaching that is broad enough to guarantee familiarity with the continuing growth within a field; excellence in teaching; contribution to the governance of the University; and contributions outside of the classroom. View a list of past recipients.


These teaching awards are based on nominations from students. The Call for Nominations will be sent in January from the Dean of the Faculty Office and will be closed for nominations on Monday, February 14, 2022. Nominations are reviewed by the Awards and Honors Committee, and a subset of the nominees are invited to submit teaching materials. Three awards are given each year - one for a tenured member of the faculty, another to an untenured member of the faculty, and one to a part-time or visiting member of the faculty. A Call for Nominations is sought from the students of the campus community beginning on Monday, January 24, 2022.  View a list of recipients.


The Jesse E. Purdy Excellence in Scholarly and Creative Works Awards have been established in order to annually recognize the achievements of Southwestern faculty. All full time tenure-track and tenured faculty, as well as staff with faculty rank are eligible for these awards.  There will be two awards given each year - one for senior faculty, and one for junior faculty and staff with faculty rank.  Nominations for these awards will come directly from the faculty, and self-nominations are not permitted.  The Call for Nominations is available beginning February 7. 2022 and ending at 5:00 pm Monday, March 7, 2022.  Nominations will be reviewed by the Awards and Honors Committee.  View a list of recipients.


The Office of Academic Success presents an annual Advising Award in order to reward the work of exceptional faculty advisors. Nominations are generated by students, and the recipient is selected by the Academic Success Staff.  View a list of past recipients.


The Board of Higher Education and Ministry (BHEM) of the United Methodist Church is sponsoring a Exemplary Teacher Award Program.  Our campus is eligible to designate one individual during the academic year as the Southwestern University Exemplary Teacher.   The individual chosen “should be characterized by excellence in teaching; civility and concern for students and colleagues; commitment to value-centered education; and service to students, the institution and the community.” BHEM provides a certificate of appreciation to the recipient.  Nominations are solicited from the current year tenured and tenure-track faculty members.  The Call for Nominations is sent early September from the Office of the Dean of the Faculty.  Nomination letters from both faculty and staff should be sent electronically to Barbara Jean.  The nomination should address the individual’s qualifications as defined above and should be received in the Dean’s Office or via email no later than the due date on the Call.  Recent recipients of this award are Traci Giuliano, Suzanne Buchele, Dirk Early, Alicia Moore, Jacquie Muir-Broaddus, Ed Kain, Emily Niemeyer, Daniel Castro, Martín Gonzalez, Ben Pierce, Maria Todd, Willis Weigand, Abby Dings, and Brenda Sendejo.


The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation of San Antonio will be honoring fifteen professors during the current academic year for their “dedication to the teaching profession and for their outstanding academic, scientific and scholarly achievement”. The purpose of these awards is to give highest recognition to the teaching profession. However, research, publication, administration or other such related activity will be considered.  The Call for Nominations is sent in September from the Dean of the Faculty Office and closed for nominations mid-October. All nominations submitted must be sent to Christine Vasquez.  The division/school chairs will review the nominations and recommend a candidate to President Burger.  With his approval, the candidate will be asked to serve as Southwestern’s nominee for the current year.