Community Outreach

College Town Committee

The College Town Committee was established to enhance the relationship between  Southwestern University and the greater Georgetown community. 


Campus Image


The College Town Committee provides a collaborative opportunity for University employees and Georgetown community leaders to work together to improve the quality of town-gown relations.

The College Town Committee meets three times this year, in September, November, and February. Each meeting begins with an optional walking tour of campus. Following the tour, each meeting includes agenda topics of mutual interest to business and non-profit organizations and campus employees. Agenda items from all members are considered. Additionally, Southwestern’s director of the Center for Career & Professional Development will share information regarding the job market and the entering workforce. 

College Town Committee 2022-2023

Jim Wilson ’69, Committee Chair and Georgetown resident

Megan Frisque, Committee Campus Liaison, AVP for Alumni & Parent Relations, Southwestern University

Daniel Anstee, Area Director, Boys & Girls Club of Georgetown

Sarah Brackmann, Senior Director of the Center for Integrative Learning, Southwestern University

Melinda Brasher, Executive Director of Communications & Community Engagement, Georgetown Independent School District

Kendal Buechler ’15, Tourism Coordinator, City of Georgetown – Convention & Visitors Bureau

Chuck Collins, Executive Director, GTX Connect

Katie Cook, Director Clinical Operations, St. David’s Georgetown

Lisa Dela Cruz ’07, Assistant Vice President for Student Life and Director of Mosaic, Southwestern University

Sydney Decker, Managing Partner, Hello Georgetown

Michael Douglas ’67, Executive Director, Texas Life Science Collaboration Center

Kathy Farmer, Georgetown Outpost Director, The Salvation Army Williamson County

Megan Firestone, Head of Special Collections and Archives, Southwestern University

Rita Healy, General Manager, Sheraton Austin Georgetown Hotel & Conference Center

Georgianne Hewett ’90, Vice President for Advancement, The Wesleyan

Nancy Hill, Executive Director, The Williamson Museum

Rebecca Huggins, Executive Director, Helping Hands of Georgetown

Leslie Janca, Chief Executive Officer, The Georgetown Project

Nancy Krenek, CEO, DPT, and Instructor, ROCK (Ride on Center for Kids)

Jackie Merrick, Director of Development, BiG (Brookwood in Georgetown)

Katie Newnam, Director of Administration & Human Resources, Sun City Texas Community Association

Ginna O’ConnorExecutive Director, The Caring Place

Kristen Paxson, Senior Director of Integrated Communications & Marketing, Southwestern University

Cathleen Phelps, Executive Director, Georgetown Family YMCA

Ken Ralph, Director of Athletics, Southwestern University

Adrian Ramirez, Director of the Center for Career & Professional Development, Southwestern University

Linda Scarbrough, Co-Publisher, The Williamson County Sun

Bretton Schultz, Director of Career and Technical Education, Georgetown Independent School District

Bryan Scott, Director of Southwestern Ministries, Crestview Baptist Church (ChurchLunch)

Cheryl Scott, Director of Southwestern Ministries, Crestview Baptist Church (ChurchLunch)

Paul Secord, Vice President for University Relations and Strategic Initiatives

Laura Sewell ’95, Director of the Sarofim School of Fine Arts Administration, Southwestern University

Kelly St. Julien, Branch Manager, Boys & Girls Club of Georgetown

Ronald Swain, Chaplain and Director of Spiritual and Religious Life, Southwestern University

Laura Capes Terry, Marketing & Media Consultant, BeLocal

Clark Thurmond, Co-Publisher, The Williamson County Sun

Aly Van Dyke, Director of Communications and Public Engagement, City of Georgetown

Molly Wissinger, Marketing Manager, Georgetown Palace Theatre


If you are interested in joining the College Town Committee, please email Megan Frisque at


Upcoming Meetings:

September 30, 2022