About the Alumni Council

The Alumni Council consists of no more than 14 positions. The Southwestern University Alumni Association Constitution states the Alumni Council “coordinates activities of The Association and unites the alumni base” (Article II - Governance). 


Alumni Council Members 2022-2024

President: Craig McKinney ’91 (Dallas, Texas)

President-Elect: Liz Guillory Medina ’97 (Pflugerville, Texas)

Alumni Communications Chair: Samanda Rivera-Hoover ’10 (Houston, Texas)

Alumni Connection Groups and Local Chapters Chair: Dorothy G. Caldwell ’92 (Austin, Texas)

Class Relations Chair: Becca Horton Epperley ’07 (Richardson, Texas)

Class Giving Chair: Bruce Gilmour ’74, P’05 (Midland, Texas)

Homecoming Chair: Alice Hardt Dorsey ’95, P’22, P’24 (Pearland, Texas)

Inclusion and Diversity Chair: Isaac Bernal ’13 (San Antonio, Texas)

Lifelong Learning Chair: Janet Del Real ’10 (Merced, California)

Nominations and Awards Chair: Sherri Haygood Babcock ’70 (Chautauqua, New York)

Professional Development Chair: Chip Evans ’94, P’24 (Austin, Texas)

Student Recruitment Chair: Carl Shaulis ’83, P’22 (Pflugerville, Texas)

Student Representative: Aidan Gomez ’25 (San Antonio, Texas)


Alumni Council’s Statement on Inclusion and Diversity

The Southwestern University Alumni Association affirms its commitment to Southwestern’s Core Values, among them fostering diverse perspectives, respecting the worth and dignity of persons, and encouraging activism in the pursuit of justice and the common good. In engaging in its mission of promoting the welfare of the University, the Association recognizes the importance of inclusion and diversity in fostering a stronger Southwestern community. 

We understand diversity in the broadest sense, embracing differences in race and ethnicity, culture, religious and spiritual beliefs, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, ability, age, socio-economic class, thought and perspective, language, geography, and background. Accordingly, the Association is committed to supporting diversity and inclusion within the institution and throughout our alumni networks to promote the development of more respectful relationships among our community, more productive and effective citizens in our ever-changing world, and a more just society.

Nominations For The Alumni Council

Any member of The Association (alumni who have completed 24 credit hours or more) or a member of the Southwestern University faculty or staff may submit a nomination for the Alumni Council. Nominations are collected at all times and reviewed by The Association’s Awards and Nominations Committee. The committee presents a slate to Alumni Assembly Delegates for voting. Once votes are collected and tallied, members of the Alumni Council begin their work for a two-year term. 

If you would like to nominate an alumnus/a for an Alumni Council position (including self-nominations), contact the Office of Alumni and Parent Relations with the individual’s name, class year and a brief explanation of your nomination.