Notable Achievements

Joe S. Mundy Award

The Mundy Award is the most prestigious honor bestowed by the university on a member of the Southwestern community.

Southwestern University’s Mundy Award was created in 2002 as a memorial to the leadership and commitment of Joe S. Mundy, an alumnus and member of the alumni board of directors as well as Southwestern’s Board of Trustees. The award recognizes exemplary faculty and staff. Nominated by their peers, the honorees demonstrate the same unwavering commitment and extraordinary passion that Mundy had for Southwestern. 

Past recipients

2023: Christine Bowman, John Dixon, Jennifer Leach, Debika Sihi, Jennifer Spiller

2022: Jefferson Ellinger, Martin Gonzalez, Grace Pyka, Kendall Richards, Maha Zewail-Foote

2021: Megan Frisque, Terri Johnson, Kristen Paxson, George Godward, Scott McLean, and Julie Sievers

2020: April Hampton Perez, Ben Pierce, Dinah Ritchie, and Brenda Thompson

2019: Josh Barrington, Melanie Hoag, Debbie Pauley and Willis Weigand

2018: Laura Gatlin, Kent Huntsman, Emily Niemeyer and Joan Parks

2017: Trish Aitken, Joe Austin, Juan Garza, Maria Kruger, and Todd Watson

2016: Jason Chapman, Jennifer O’Daniel, and Michael Torres

2015: Kerri Brinkoeter, Kelly Lessard, and Desiderio Roybal

2014: Deborah Brown, Ed Kain, and Bob Mathis

2013: Dirk Early, Alison Kafer, Lou Ann Moore, Ella Sedwick, and Dave Stones

2012: John Chapman, Dana Hendrix, Mike Leese, and Scott Sandoval

2011: Don Gregory, Phil Hopkins, Ben Nava, and Jimmy Smith

2010: Mike Rossman, Francie Schroeder, and Kenny Sheppard

2009: Melissa Johnson, Suzanne Pukys, Glenn Schwab, and Paul Sicard

2008: David Gaines, Ruben Torres, David Williamson, and Jaime Woody

2007: Jeanne Calvin, Norma Gaines, Elizabeth Green Musselman, and Bob Radford

2006: Bill Jones, Jan Nowlin, Karen Purdy, and Reyes Diaz

2005: John Ore and Debbie Sanderfer

2004: Lynne Brody, Joe LePage, Glada Munt, and Jesse Purdy

2003: Sherry Adrian, Julie Cowley, John Delaney, and Josie Rodriguez

2002: Jan Dawson, Laura Hobgood, John Lind, and Dan Yoxall