Office of Academic Affairs

Emeritus Faculty

The process for being awarded emeritus status begins at the end of a professor’s SU teaching career. Each year, the Dean of Faculty shares their list of potential retiring faculty members with Southwestern’s Board of Trustees at their annual Spring meeting. The Board of Trustees approves these faculty members on a case by case basis, contingent upon the honorable standing of each faculty member.

Homecoming Event!

Emeritus Faculty Gathering


The Emeritus Faculty Committee works to foster involvement by emeritus faculty in university life, to ensure emeritus faculty access to university services, and to provide them with a voice for emeritus faculty concerns. The committee representation consists of 2-3 current SU faculty and 2 emeritus faculty.  All members are appointed annually.  Current faculty members are appointed by the Faculty Steering Committee in consultation with the Dean of Faculty’s office.


If you are in the planning stages for retirement, take a look at this page


SU Emeritus Newsletter


Become an Emeritus Faculty Committee Member

Apply Here