Friends and Colleagues Establish Scholarship in Honor of Dan Hilliard

Friends and colleagues of Dan Hilliard, professor of sociology and anthropology from 1974–2008, invite you to join them in establishing an endowment honoring his tenure at Southwestern. The fund will provide scholarships to upperlevel students majoring in sociology and anthropology who meet the University’s requirements for financial aid.

This scholarship becomes active when $25,000 or more is received. Each gift to this endowed fund moves the University closer to the goal of making a Southwestern education affordable to all admitted students.

For more information or to make a gift, contact Justin Gould ’98, associate director of leadership gifts, at 800-960-6363 or Or, visit us online at

Other Funds Honor Southwestern Students and Faculty

In addition to the new fund honoring Dan Hilliard, the funds listed below have been established by alumni, family and friends to support Southwestern students and faculty. If you would like to support Southwestern by designating your gift to any of these funds honoring Southwestern faculty and staff, please visit or call 800-960-6363 extension 1482.

  • F. Burr and Doris J. Clifford Endowed Fund
  • The Larry and Susan Connell Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • The Fred R. Hilgeman Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • The Iola Bowden Chambers Scholarship in Fine Arts
  • The William Carrington Finch Award
  • The Fleming Scholar in Residence Program in Religion
  • Dr. Leonard Giesecke Endowed Fund
  • Dr. John C. Godbey Memorial Scholarship
  • The Goosetree-Morgan-Springer Scholarship Fund
  • The Vinson Hammond Fund for Music Performance and Scholarship
  • The William Douglas Hooker Endowed Scholarship
  • The Richard J. Hossalla Endowment Fund
  • The Claud Howard and Elizabeth A. Crawford Endowed Scholarship
  • The Claud Howard and Elizabeth A. Crawford Endowment Fund
  • The Tom M. Johnson Band Scholarship
  • The William B. Jones Faculty Fellowship Fund
  • Edward L. Kain Endowed Scholarship
  • Dr. Tex Kassen Endowed Fund
  • The Laura Kuykendall Communication Award
  • Laura Kuykendall Endowed Scholarship
  • The Bob Lancaster Award
  • The Frank Luksa Award
  • The Jane Brown McCook Endowed Scholarship
  • The R. M. Medley Memorial
  • The Henry E. Meyer Memorial Music Composition Award
  • The Annie Edwards Barcus Minga Speech Contest
  • The Gwen Kennedy Neville Endowment Fund
  • Ellsworth Peterson Endowed Scholarship
  • Charley Ray Scholarship
  • The John D. Richards Scholarship Fund
  • J. N. R. Score Memorial
  • The John Score Award in Philosophy
  • John Score Endowed Scholarship
  • President J. N. R. and Ruth S. Score Scholarship
  • Dr. Jimmy Smith Kinesiology Endowed Research Fund
  • Robert L. Soulen Endowed Scholarship
  • The Norman W. Spellman Award in Religion
  • The Angus Springer Scholarship
  • The Tower-Hester Chair in Political Science
  • The Ralph M. Whitmore Endowed Scholarship Fund
  • Professor M. L. Williams Endowed Scholarship
  • The Bishop Joe and Mrs. Zoe Strickland Wilson Endowed Scholarship

Yearly Gifts Add Up

Thank you for your years of support. Every gift matters. Gifts received prior to June 30, 2009, will support Thinking Ahead: The Southwestern Campaign.