Southwestern @ Georgetown
Volume 17 • Number 3
Share this StoryMore On Campus: 12345|Next ›
Student News: Leadership and Awards
Southwestern @ Georgetown
Omicron Delta Kappa

A chapter of Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society, has been chartered at Southwestern.

Forty-eight students and three faculty/staff members were inducted at a ceremony April 19. An additional six faculty/staff members who are already members of the organization were added to the Southwestern charter. Two retired faculty members also were named charter members of the organization.

Omicron Delta Kappa was started at Washington and Lee University in 1914. To qualify for the organization, students must be juniors or seniors in the top 35 percent of their class and demonstrate distinction in one of five areas of campus life: scholarship, athletics, student government, media or creative and performing arts.

“Omicron Delta Kappa is the Phi Beta Kappa of student leadership organizations,” says Jerry Brody, vice president for student life. “This will be a wonderful opportunity for our students.”

For more information on Omicron Delta Kappa, visit

 Three Southwestern students received awards this spring from Texas Campus Compact, a statewide organization that promotes community service, service learning and civic engagement among college students.

The students were selected from nominations submitted by nearly 50 Campus Compact-affiliated institutions throughout Texas. Southwestern students received three of six awards given.

Psychology major Lauren Sekel ’07 received the Unsung Hero Award and psychology major Kathryn (“Kat”) Haskin ’08 was the first runner-up for the award. Philosophy major Ansa Copeland ’07 was the first runner-up for the Leadership in Action Award.

 Melinda Smothermon ’06 received the 2006 Internship Student of the Year award from the Cooperative Education and Internship Association (CEIA).

Smothermon interned with the U.S. Department of State in Washington, D.C., in the fall of 2004 in the Office of the Science and Technology Adviser to the Secretary.

Smothermon was nominated for the CEIA Award for her internship performance, as well as her leadership on campus and in the community.

Southwestern @ Georgetown
Bucs Wrap Another Championship Lacrosse Season

On April 30, the men’s lacrosse team defeated St. Edward’s University 10-5 and secured their second U.S. Lacrosse-Lone Star Alliance (LSA) Division B Championship. Led by Coach Bill Bowman ’92, the Bucs were undefeated in conference for the second year in a row, leading the team to their third top playoff seed. Sparked by the outstanding play of LSA’s Most Valuable Player and All-American Mike Jeffcoat ’06 and sophomore All-American defenseman Cole Claiborn, the Bucs took their conference-best attack to the U.S. Lacrosse Championships in Dallas on May 10-14, where the team’s season ended with losses to No. 5 Montana State University and No. 10 Augustana College. They won their final consolation game against No. 9 Calvin College, 10-6. The Bucs finished their season 11-4 overall, and ranked 14th in May’s final national poll.