Engaging Minds, Transforming Lives


Phi Beta Kappa Chapter Inducts Twenty-Four New Members

  • News Image
    Southwestern's newest members of Phi Beta Kappa pose for photos after their May 9 induction ceremony.
  • News Image
  • News Image

Southwestern has one of only 270 chapters of the national honor society

Twenty-four members of the Class of 2014 were inducted into Southwestern’s chapter of the prestigious Phi Beta Kappa honor society.

Founded at the College of William and Mary on Dec. 5, 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic honor society. Southwestern is one of only 11 colleges and universities in Texas that have been granted a chapter of Phi Bata Kappa.

Southwestern’s 2014 initiates were:

Brianna Billingsley
Jacob Brown
Gregory Carrera
Emily Deaton
Paige Duggins
Kendall Guidroz
Hayley Hamilton
Stephen Holloway
Lindsay Jakszta
Zachary Jenner
Ashley Johnson
Alexander Joseph
Emily Manning
Carlos Martinez
Katie McLaughlin
Phuong-Hieu Nguyen
Bailey Olderog
Maxwell Oldham
Sarah Puffer
Samantha Sada
William Thorne
Gina Watts
Timothy Williams
Cheyenne Wooldridge

The speaker for the induction ceremony was Southwestern University President Dr. Edward Burger, who is a member of Phi Beta Kappa.