Engaging Minds, Transforming Lives


Eight Receive 2013 Awards from The Association of Southwestern University Alumni

  • News Image
    1992 graduate Kenda Jameson Evans started the annual Jameson 5K, which has raised more than $70,000 to support students studying the sciences at Southwestern.
  • News Image
    Blair Quinius
  • News Image

Education professor Sherry Adrian is named Ms. Homecoming for 2013

Seven alumni and a faculty member were honored this year by  The Association of Southwestern University Alumni. The awards were presented Nov. 3 during Southwestern’s 2013 Homecoming and Reunion Weekend.

The Distinguished Southwestern Service Award was given to Kenda Jameson Evans, a 1992 graduate who is the founder and director of the annual Jameson 5K at Southwestern. To date, the event has raised more than $70,000 to support students studying the sciences at Southwestern.

The Distinguished Humanitarian Award was given to Mike Lade, a 1988 graduate who is a member of the Executive Committee and Board of Directors for Food Allergy Research & Education, Inc., (FARE) a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., that works on behalf of the 15 million Americans with food allergies. Lade has been instrumental in the FARE Walk for Food Allergy in Houston, which has raised more than $1.2 million locally.

Distinguished Professional Awards were given to Steve Cotton, a 1977 graduate who is the managing partner of the Cotton-Adams Financial Goup in Dallas; J. Wehrley Chapman, a 1960 graduate who is a professor emeritus of physics at the University of Michigan; and Susan Youens, a 1969 graduate who is the J. W. Van Gorkom Professor of Music at the University of Notre Dame.

The Distinguished Young Alumna Award was given to Anne Olson, a 2008 graduate who has become a leader in the fight against human trafficking both domestically and abroad. The Distinguished Young Alumnus Award was given to Blair Quinius, a 2005 graduate who is the executive director of UrbanPromise Honduras, an organization that works with at-risk children and youth throughout the world.

Associate Professor of Education Sherry Adrian was named Ms. Homecoming for 2013. The Ms. Homecoming Award is an honor bestowed upon a member of the Southwestern University faculty or staff as a token of the affection and respect of former students.

Related Content