Engaging Minds, Transforming Lives


Six Receive 2011 Alumni Awards

  • News Image
    State Sen. Joan Bray visits with students and alumni while on campus to receive an award from The Association of Southwestern University Alumni.

Recipients include a state senator and an up-and-coming conductor

Six Southwestern University alumni received awards from The Association of Southwestern University Alumni Nov. 5.

The Distinguished Professional Award went to Dr. Dan Stultz, a 1972 graduate who is currently president and CEO of the Texas Hospital Association.  

The Distinguished Humanitarian Award was given to Sen. Joan Bray, a 1967 graduate who was elected to the Missouri State Senate in 2002 after serving 10 years in the Missouri State House of Representatives. The Distinguished Young Alumna Award was given to Sylvia Mayer, a 2001 graduate who has worked as a corporate trainer and also held a variety of positions with local political organizations, including serving as president of the Williamson County Young Republicans.

The Distinguished Young Alumnus Award was given to Matthew Brown, a 2002 graduate who is the associate conductor of the Canton (Ohio) Symphony Orchestra. Brown also is co-founder and artistic director of the International Conductors’ Festival in Kiev, Ukraine.

The Distinguished Southwestern Service Award was given to Marjorie Stripling Schultz, 1970 graduate who served as a member of Southwestern’s Board of Trustees, an Alumni Board officer, a member of the Campaign Cabinet, and chair of the Planned Giving Council.

Pam Rossman, a 1972 graduate, was named Ms. Homecoming for 2011. Rossman is the chapel organist and music coordinator.