Office of Career Services

Senior Samantha Lingamfelter wins SU’s 10th TASPA scholarship

The scholarship, granted annually by the Texas Association of School Personnel Administrators, honors the best teacher candidates in the state.  Lingamfelter, a mathematics senior, student-athlete and campus leader, plans to teach secondary math upon graduation.

The SU Education Department produces award-winning teachers year after year. No other university in Texas comes close to creating the 10 consecutive winners of the TASPA Scholarship program.  The scholarship is awarded annually by the 779-member professional organization which represents the recruiting/human resources staff of 340 state school districts.

As a student at Southwestern, Lingamfelter served as a Resident Assistant, Spanish tutor, coach for various summer camps, captain of the volleyball team, ESL teacher for Southwestern staff interested in improving their English skills and Operation Achievement mentor.  She also held leadership roles in Sigma Delta Pi (national Spanish honor society), Kappa Delta Pi (national education honor society), Pi Mu Epsilon (national mathematics honor society) and Sigma Phi Lambda, a Christian women’s social sorority.

The daughter of a teacher, Lingamfelter credits her middle school math teacher and high school calculus teacher as the ultimate inspirations for also pursuing a teaching career. 

Past winners of the TASPA scholarship from Southwestern include:

2008: Kristin Lahaie

2007: Jessica Ratcliffe

2006: Cassandra Ashby

2005: Grant Kessler

2004: Whitney McCall

2003: Lisa Blancarte

2002: Sarah Seawell

2001: Barbara Ahrendt

2000: Emily Walker