Sarofim School of Fine Arts

Passion for the Arts

Eight students were honored for their work in the arts

Charles Morris ’15 was awarded the annual Fayez Sarofim Passion for the Arts Award. This award is presented annually to the graduating senior who, regardless of major, has demonstrated throughout his or her entire undergraduate career at Southwestern an unusual passion for the arts. This award was established in 2008 in honor of Mr. Fayez Sarofim in acknowledgement of and appreciation for his generous support of Southwestern University. Each year’s recipient is selected by the Dean of the Sarofim School of Fine Arts from nominations submitted by the Fine Arts Faculty. The recipient of the award receives a cash prize, to be used in any manner they choose to further their artistic goals, and the awardees’ name is added to the plaque that hangs in the lobby of the Fine Arts Building.

Each department in the Fine Arts also recognized their outstanding students. Victoria Gadson ’15 received the Lancaster Award in Studio Art, Sadie Pass ’15 received the Lancaster Award in Art History, Michael Martinez ’15 received the Mary Lynn Webb Starnes Music Award, Jeffrey McKenzie ’15 received the Dean Henry E. Meyer Award, Carly Dennis ’15 and Amber Wallour ’15 received the Pickett Award in Studio Art, and Audrey Barrett ’15 received the Outstanding Senior in Theatre Award. 

Posted March 30, 2015.


Alena Garcia, 512-863-1379

Share This Story